Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Nanowrimo Is Over -- Party!

All righty, then. Nano is finally over, as of midnight tonight, but for me it ended yesterday. I hit my 50,000th word and almost passed out. There are still those that are writing and trying to make it before midnight and I wish them lots of luck and easy flowing words. What did I write, you ask? It is the biggest collection of crap I've come up with yet. I mean it, seriously, it's awful. However, when I realized that the story was just ... pathetic, I quit trying to put it together and forcing it to become what it so obviously couldn't be. I started writing scenes that are loosely connected at best and completely disjointed at worst. I do think there is some good material in it if you take it piece by piece, but all together, well, I wouldn't make my arch enemy read it. That would be cruel and unusual punishment. So, now, I take a breath in relief that it's over, put the damn thing on a shelf, and hopefully let it be totally forgotten. May it sink into the void of oblivion and never be heard from again. Yes, it is that bad.

The one good thing that came from the month of November is my enjoyment of writing. I've written so many research papers that I had really started hating the idea of writing. Nano let me remember what it's like to write for fun, letting the mind travel down imagination roads without needing to be justified or cited in any way. Yes, I know that were I a published writer, I'd have to justify my writing somehow, after all, the point of published writing is to make money. However, since I am not one of the lucky ones that makes their living from their imaginations, I can write to please myself, unless of course, I want someone to look at it and critique it for me. That's a whole other story. I've been down that road several times and I'd like to go there again but I don't have the energy to spend on it at the present moment. There's too much homework to be done.

In other news, Em is being very sneaky. I think it has something to do with presents. T on the other hand seems totally oblivious. It must be a guy thing.

The final thought today? A quote I'm particularly fond of, "You're not a donkey, you don't have to be an ass." Just a thought.

No comments:

Post a Comment