Friday, July 16, 2010

Tempus Fugit

The summer has been busy even though there are no kids around. I've finished up the summer session in school and am looking ahead to the fall semester. Time flies by and I don't realize it until payday comes around. That's not to say there are loads of cash sitting around rotting or anything, just that time sits still for no one. Rotting cash, I wish I had that problem. My cash almost catches fire from the friction as it flies into and out of my hands.

The writing is going fairly well considering the lack of time I seem to have lately. I've been trying to fix a chapter in my new project but it refuses to be fixed. I'm ready to pitch the whole chapter and start from scratch. Meanwhile, the old project molders on the shelf. I'm happy to let it sit for a while. Maybe if it lays there long enough I'll go back to it and rediscover some enthusiasm for it. I've been told not to jump into revising immediately after I've written something. That's hard for me because I'm usually still excited about the writing at that point. It's all about momentum. After starting the revision project I get burned out and tired of the words. So, I'm going to try the whole put-it-away-for-a-while thing and see if that works better. Meanwhile, there's this stupid girl who sees a murder and refuses to run. She's such a dunce. But that's a different story.

I've said before that I found my love of writing when I was in the sixth grade in creative writing on Friday's. I found that teacher on facebook recently. He has no idea the worlds he opened to me. I've always had a huge imagination but until his classes I had no place to keep the creations. It's a cool thing you've done, Mr. Hillyer. Very cool.

In other news, I'm not so tired as I was in the last post. The whole wiping issue has been eradicated and cleanliness standards are back in full force. This pleases me since the question of did I or didn't I was about to drive me insane, well, more than I already am. I recently talked to one of my sisters and she has an even bigger issue. It seems she can't spit. For those of you that can spit, and get some distance on it, you just can't understand how handicapped those of us feel who cannot. Have you ever had a bad taste in your mouth that you need to spit out and you try only to have it dribble down your chin and onto your clothes? Yep, that's an issue. I have only one thing to say about that. Whether you can spit or not, don't try spitting in the wind. That's just not pretty.

No comments:

Post a Comment